tamill film

Devan is a 2002 Indian Tamil-language action film directed by Arun Pandian making his debut as director. The film stars himself in the title role being his 50th project as actor with Meena and Kausalya , while Vivek and Malayalam actor Sai Kumar play supporting roles. Actors Vijayakanth, Karthik and Senthil appear in guest appearances. Sai Kumar had made his Tamil debut with this film. The music was composed by Ilaiyaraaja. The film was released on 14 June 2002 and was also dubbed in Hindi as Vidrohi.
The movie opens with Alex Devan murdering photographer Jeeva in cold blood in the latter’s house. Jeeva strategically positions a video camera to capture the impending murder, but Devan’s face is not captured on it. Jeeva shouts out the name of his killer before dying, but the audio is lost at that point.
While the police search for the killer, Devan zeroes in on Chetta Raghu as his next target. He follows Chetta to Chandigarh but is apprehended by CBI officer Rathnavel. Rathnavel is a tasked with bringing down hoarders and black marketers of India’s staple grains. Once Rathnavel realises that Chetta is a mastermind of the hoarding operation, he begins to help him, even hiring successful lawyer Chakravarthy to fight for him.
The flashback shows that Devan’s sister Jacqueline was killed by Chetta. Earlier, Chetta and Devan were friends, but Chetta stalks and harasses Jacqueline. He peeps on her when she is bathing, and when she finds out about it, she slaps him in public. Chetta decides to take revenge. On Jacqueline’s wedding day, he drugs her and sends her to church in the bridal costume with no dress underneath. Chetta then grabs her costume from the car, thus rendering her completely naked in public. He then shoots her and her groom. Devan is framed for the crime and wants to avenge his sister’s death. In the end, Chetta is killed.

Directed by Arun Pandian
Written by Arun Pandian
Produced by Arun Pandian
Starring Arun Pandian, Meena, Kausalya
Cinematography P. Selvakumar
Edited by B. S. Vasu & Saleem
Music by Ilaiyaraaja
Production Friends Creations
Release date 14 June 2002
Running time 175 minutes
Country India
Language Tamil


Download Devan




Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You cannot copy content of this page